Lesson 0: Preparation for Acrylic Painting

When Steph first mentioned that she is going to take up Sketching course from Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts (NAFA), I thought of signing up too! I am in need of a creative outlet to balance my mundane life! As I rambled on while pouring out my interest, I found out that NAFA conducts an array of part-time enrichment courses which are suitable for beginners (or so they claim)!

photo-4

Instead of Sketching, I signed up for Western Painting (Acrylic / Oil) and opted for Acrylic Painting! (He wished me luck in my attempt to fly before learning to walk.)  I always wanted to paint something for our new home. Whenever we see beautiful acrylic paintings, which often cost an arm and leg, I always imagine myself painting it! But the technicalities involved (e.g types of paints, flat / round brush etc) set me back.

Now, with all the tools purchased (I’m $100 + $300 poorer), I’m all set for my class come next Tuesday.

Wish me luck!

If my arts teacher from my primary / secondary school knows about my intention to sign up for this class back in the 90’s, they will surely stop me or my painting trainer. HAH.

// If I survived this 8 weeks course, I may pick up Lifestyle Sewing! I always wanted to sew my own summer skirt! Haha.

About somethingboutrenes

A lady with many random thoughts and braving this whimsical world with a simple faith. In love with all things vintage and pieces with a story to tell. Loves blogging, enjoys Yoga and has an urgent need to travel to maintain sanity.

10 responses to “Lesson 0: Preparation for Acrylic Painting”

  1. G says :

    Another similar interest =)
    I like painting though i am a beginner too…And i think i am not that good but i do enjoy… i went for a paid course 2 yrs back.. it helped a tad bit…and after that, i join this guy : http://artinwetlands.wordpress.com/category/art-workshops/
    Its free.

  2. SQ says :

    wahhhhhh.. so we can expect paintings in our homes and free tailor? :P

  3. lin says :

    so glad i came across your post. i’m planning to do the same course in nafa, with no experience in painting at all but just passion. not sure how i’m going to survive cause i’m too worried that i might be one of the worst there. did they tell you what material to purchase, no materials provided at all? :)

    • somethingboutrenes says :

      Hi Lin,

      After you registered, they will give you a list of material you need to buy. No materials provided for this course and for a start I spent close to $100 to buy the material! You need to grab canvas board, paint, brush, disposable mixing paper, palate knife and some other accessories.

      Don’t worry about that now, it is all great fun and I too has zero experience! :)

  4. lin says :

    oh, i don’t have any of those materials. but still, thank you so much for your info :)

  5. lin says :

    oh, sorry another qns. are those materials easily get from art friend? now i find really hard to fork that amount of money on the materials cause i doubt i prolly paint again or is there any place that i could loan or borrow just for that moment? sighhh :(

    • somethingboutrenes says :

      Yes those are easily available in art friend. Initially it seems like a lot of money but once you seen the completed painting and the experience of going through it, it is well worth the money!

Leave a Reply

