Indecent Ad by Abercrombie & Fitch

aber_delonho
This is all over the news!

When I first saw this at Orchard, I first blushed then shyly ogled at the poster. You know when girls go covering their eyes with their hands yet stealing peaks in between their fingers? Yeah. That was what I my mind did when I first saw it.

Now, when I go pass it I openly ogle and analyze his abs. I thought if he didn’t pull down his jeans almost revealing his you-know-what; it won’t have caused such an uproar.

In my view, it is marketing at its purest form. I remembered my marketing lecturer once told me, sex sells, and so I guess, marketers use this as an easy way out? I mean, how else can you differentiate your polo tees? If it’s not the cut, the print, the material, the price, it has got to be its brand, specifically, the association to the brand. A & F is selling dream (or hope) to guys, when someone puts on an A & F with his collar pulled up; he feels sexy and saw the non-existing abs in the mirror.

I don’t want to judge and analyze the moral value behind this, but this goes to show that yes, even though Singaporeans are well travelled, some are in many ways, conservative Asians. Despite the vast American media exposures, some are not accepting when it happens on home ground?

Ignoring all negative news of A & F’s ads, I’m looking forward to the topless hunks at the store and will probably go take a silly Polaroid and grin like a girl in the candy store.

898
Photo taken in March 2010 at Ginza, Tokyo

A note to guys out there who booed at this ad, don’t blame your girls for ogling, work harder! HAH.

Shucks, my flabs just reminded me to start working out too.

About somethingboutrenes

A lady with many random thoughts and braving this whimsical world with a simple faith. In love with all things vintage and pieces with a story to tell. Loves blogging, enjoys Yoga and has an urgent need to travel to maintain sanity.

Leave a Reply

