To Leave or To Stay

A blog reader, K, asked when do one know if he/she needs to leave the company.

This is a very personal question and I’m sure everyone has his or her own opinion on this. So, do leave a comment if you have something to say.

In my job, I manage a team of 8 supervisors and 90 staffs and dealing with resignation and recruitment is almost a common affair.

Generally, people leave because of these reasons:-

  1. Poor relationship with reporting officer: If you have an unappreciative, mean, non-inspirational boss, it is likely that you won’t spend your waking hours striving for him/her.
  2. Job misfit in current job: You love your team but you hate what you are doing.
  3. Slow progression in current job: In your learning journey or in your career.
  4. Better opportunity: An opportunity you can’t resist comes knocking at your door either in terms of industry, position or compensation package.

For J, he claimed that the reason is because of a better opportunity. From my observation, I have a feeling that he hates his job or the people he has to deal with.

To me, instead of asking when will I know if I have to leave, I would rather ask myself, when do I know if I should stay. It is just another side of the same coin.

My parents often question about the career I picked. It is not glamorous, it doesn’t pays well, and it requires one to deal with a lot of annoying stakeholders. People may even call it a dirty job and most will shun away from it.  I have to admit, it is a humbling job.

For some simple reasons, I enjoy what I do, I am happy where I am, I can proudly say, I love my job (how many can say that?). If I ever wake up feeling a need to leave my current job, it must be the day when I stop learning or when my career is on a standstill.

You will probably have to ask yourself what motivates you and what makes you happy in a job. This surely sounds familiar, but not many stop and give it a thought.

About somethingboutrenes

A lady with many random thoughts and braving this whimsical world with a simple faith. In love with all things vintage and pieces with a story to tell. Loves blogging, enjoys Yoga and has an urgent need to travel to maintain sanity.

2 responses to “To Leave or To Stay”

  1. Jx says :

    Am going through the same thoughts as well, what is it exactly I dislike about my job. Some advice maybe? How did you come to find this job that you love? Did you always know that this is what you wanted?

  2. somethingboutrenes says :

    Hi JX,

    I am in no position to advice you but I can share with you on some of my thoughts. :)

    This job which I am in was my first job after I graduate. Despite graduating with excellent results and going through numerous job interviews, I didn’t get into any of those MNC high paying jobs which many pursuit. It was a sucky period as every job came close and I always got kicked out in the final few rounds after numerous interviews. It is probably a blessing in disguise.

    When I finally got two job offers, one in Shanghai in an industry I dislike and another in a consumer industry that I love! I took up the second job, the industry I love. So if you asked me how do I found this job, I was applying all over the place but mostly picking up to an industry which I like and which I can relate to. So, don’t restrict your choices, apply in companies, which you can see yourself enjoying in, in an industry you like. Don’t follow what people expect of you; don’t pick one that offer the highest pay, don’t pick the industry that every one is going into, pick something you enjoy, or think you will enjoy.

    This job seems like it was given to me because I sailed through all the interviews. When I first took up the offer, I was rather uncertain if there are any future prospects in it (I still don’t) and on top of that, my family was against it as it wasn’t exactly a high paying job. But I took the plunge as I thought it is a company with good values and is the biggest company in the industry. Now, my parents are just glad I’m enjoying what I do. So in picking a job, company values are important and should align with yours and it must definitely be an industry, which you like. For instance, in my company they encourage family time and work like balance. Even though hours can be long, bosses are generally understanding in your family commitment. Also, it is a company that has a social mission and not just about profit making. Lastly, the company I’m in is unlike MNC companies where there is hostility, where everything is purely result oriented and cut throat. People in my company are nice and helpful in the company.

    Answering your question, do I always know what I always want? No, I don’t. But I know what I don’t want. I don’t want a job that is too technical, desk bond, too much brainy statistical and analytical work. I prefer a job with people interaction. I also know the industry that I don’t want, I prefer consumer related industry, anything frontline, something that I can relate to. I won’t want to work in an industry, which deals with B2B products but rather B2C. So with that, I narrowed down my choices. But that also leaves many options for me to pursue. I guess I followed my heart, as I want a job that doesn’t feel too much like work.

    Lastly, even though I have picked the industry and company to work in, there are many functions in a company. With the same logic that I prefer a job that is not too technical, not desk bond, with great people interaction, I also pick a role that I know can keep myself motivated. I am a person who is motivated by power, decision-making opportunities and autonomy. I am motivated by instant gratification, so whatever effort I put in, I want to see results, and in my job, I get that.

    I hope this answers your questions! I am just rattling my thoughts! Haha.

Leave a Reply

