DYMO Embossing Labelmaker

p1070550

Source: By My Old School

I’m not sure about your era but during my childhood days, this gadget is very common in households or offices. If you find this familiar, we can probably guess your age! Haha. I remember we once own a DYMO in our family (and now I totally regret throwing it away because I so digging vintage now!) and we would label everything with this! Water bottles, pencil case, books, you name it, we got one on it! My sister and I had a lot of fun turning the wheel, clicking away and sticking random embossed labels in the house.

20080306_SAWG_fg02

Source: Here
It started with an all metal labeller.

20080306_SAWG_fg05

Source: Here

20080306_SAWG_fg04

Source: Here

DYMO is an American company that manufactures label makers among other things and it was founded in 1958 to produce handheld tools that use embossing tape. Over various decades, the company changed hand a couple of times and this manual labeller is slowly being faced out with electronic labeller. I would love to own a vintage DYMO one day!

photo-3

For now, I am just satisfied with my new gadget, a modern DYMO from our popular bookstore! I chose this because it looks more hardy and the additional wheels with cute fonts are hard to resist. It is three times the price of a Motex, another popular embossed label maker from Korea. This will be perfect in labelling Polaroids and doing random crafts and scrapbooks! I can’t wait!

About somethingboutrenes

A lady with many random thoughts and braving this whimsical world with a simple faith. In love with all things vintage and pieces with a story to tell. Loves blogging, enjoys Yoga and has an urgent need to travel to maintain sanity.

6 responses to “DYMO Embossing Labelmaker”

  1. Shinn says :

    I love the DYMO labelmakers! But the price should be rather expensive :( I stopped buying them though.

    • somethingboutrenes says :

      Hi Shinn

      Thank u for dropping by! I agree! They are too cute to resist and I love their vintage look!

  2. Jasmine says :

    Hi, may I know which Popular Bookstore outlet did you purchase the Motex and DYMO label marker from? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

