“French Milk” makes me wanna go Paris right now!

photo-10

I first came across Lucy Knisley’s work while reading A Cup of Jo’s blog post about Lucy’s new book Relish out this month! Joanna was raving about her earlier book – French Milk – a graphic novel journeying her six weeks Paris vacation she had with her mum when she turned twenty two.

photo-12

I did a quick search in the online catalogue of my favourite library in town and am glad that they carry it! It was my first time reading a graphic novel (minus those random comics I read in my younger days) so it took me a while to get use to reading short sentences and looking at pictures more than words. This is a quick read for people who hates reading while I gobbled it down in a few hours! I was a little skeptical initially, as her sharing on the last few days in US before her vacation was a little boring. But once she starts writing and drawing about Paris, I’m in love. Haha. She is funny and very real.

This is a good introduction to people who have yet to visit Paris (me!) and also a nice read for people loving Paris (me!). Hah. Now I’m looking forward to her new book – Relish – a coloured graphic novel sharing her food adventures, as the daughter of a chef, from New York to Mexico to Venice to Japan.

Here are some notes I took from this book which I hope will come in handy when I have an opportunity to visit Paris in the future!

  • Visiting the various art museums such as Musee De L’Orangeries and Musee D’Orsay
  • Eating yummy praline cookies from Laduree which is also famous for their macarons (they are opening a store in Takashimya on 15 April!)
  • Sipping tea and eating chocolate fondant and drinking wine at cafes / bistros
  • Visiting Marche Aux Puces, Paris’s oldest and largest antiques flea market
  • Visiting Montmartre flea markets and Sacre Coeur
  • Visiting Dehullerin which is famous for their kitchen equipments and accessories. Perhaps a few copper pots and pans for decorations?

Fly me to Paris now!

Tags: , , ,

About somethingboutrenes

A lady with many random thoughts and braving this whimsical world with a simple faith. In love with all things vintage and pieces with a story to tell. Loves blogging, enjoys Yoga and has an urgent need to travel to maintain sanity.

4 responses to ““French Milk” makes me wanna go Paris right now!”

  1. Henry Chamberlain says :

    Good to read your review. I have meant to check that out and do my own review. I realize it has been out for quite some time. Better late than never. Interesting how Knisley’s managed to do well with readers who don’t necessarily follow comics.

  2. somethingboutrenes says :

    Hi Henry, thank you for dropping a comment! Maybe because most people love travelling, food and random lifestyle topics. Haha :) would like to read your review and take on this book as well!

  3. Lady J says :

    Looks like an interesting book. Will try to get my hands on it :) I love Paris too!

Leave a Reply

