Foie Gras and Beef at Culina Dempsey

As promised, here are some pictures and information on Foie Gras which I’ve tried at the tasting event. First, I don’t particularly like the taste. I am not a fan of fats and am not attracted to the ducky liver taste and buttery texture. Second, I don’t really like the idea of force feeding or torturing a duck or goose for human consumption, just like I don’t particularly enjoy how sharks died a tormenting manner for their fin soups. Third, it doubt it is healthy. Probably an artery chockfull of fats.

So yap, I wasn’t too happy tasting them but to each his own. Sorry for dissing foie gras fan. Oops.

“Foie gras is a food product made of the liver of a duck or goose that has been specially fattened. By French law,foie gras is defined as the liver of a duck fattened by force feeding corn with a gavage, although outside of France it is occasionally produced using natural feeding.

Foie gras is a popular and well-known delicacy in French cuisine. Its flavor is described as rich, buttery, and delicate, unlike that of an ordinary duck or goose liver. Foie gras is sold whole, or is prepared into mousse, parfait, or pâté, and may also be served as an accompaniment to another food item, such as steak.

Gavage-based foie gras production is controversial due to the force feeding procedure used. A number of countries and other jurisdictions have laws against force feeding or the sale of foie gras.”

Source: Wikipedia

photo (44)

This tasted like squashy luncheon meat and slightly more palatable than the rest.

photo (43)

The truffle mashed potato is yummy. The foie gras is buttery and squashy.

photo (42)

Was looking forward to this but the duck meat was a little too dry.

photo (41)

Still not a fan.

photo (37)

This is the yummiest of the lot. I can’t really taste Foie Gras and the caramelized topping is really interesting. A creative way to turn a savoury ingredient to a sweet treat like that.

A long time back, I was also at Culina Dempsey for a dinner and wine event. Back then, I tried their steak and was in steak heaven. I was busy getting happily drunk while dunking pieces of steak in me while floating in fuzzy steak and wine heaven. Today while I am sober, I asked their manager to point out the piece of awesome meat to me and now I know the source to my happiness. Haha.

photo (38)

I was given Kobe Cusine Wagyu MBS8. No idea what the rating means but I know the high it is, the greater the marbling and the better the meat. Oooh. You can pick the meat at their counter and get them to cook for you. Not sure if there is a fee for the cooking but all I remember is that it was so good.

photo (39)

This is the next best alternative at a much lower rate. Look at the marbling. I love my steak and I’m the kind of girl who eats heartily and unglamorously. Haha.

Tags: , , ,

About somethingboutrenes

A lady with many random thoughts and braving this whimsical world with a simple faith. In love with all things vintage and pieces with a story to tell. Loves blogging, enjoys Yoga and has an urgent need to travel to maintain sanity.

Leave a Reply

