My take on Eyeshadows and Material World’s Anna Sui Giveaway!

Did I mention I love participating in Giveaways? I think I did. Did I mention that Material World is awesome with lots of interesting Giveaways? I think I did. Gosh, participating in giveaways is like buying lottery except that you don’t have to spend a single cent! Yay! And winning giveaways make me happy! What’s not to like when you can enjoy tiny victories in the form of giveaways! Haha. Of course, I do not participate in every giveaway just to win something. I participate in something I can relate to and things I really like! Just that there are plenty all over. Haha.

So back to the latest Material World giveaway! Material World is giving away Anna Sui Limited Eye Shadow Palette 2013 in No. 2, and it triggered some thoughts on my views on eyeshadows colours.

Basically, I am boring when it comes to the colours of eyeshadows. I stick to natural, earth and brown tones most of the time. I declare that it looks best for Asian girls. At least for me!

Here are some colours I tried previously:-

  • Pink: I tried and looked like I have swollen eyes. Freaking puffy goldfish.
  • Blue: Please don’t ask me why I even bother. I look like someone from Mars. Blue and creepy.
  • Green: Yes. I tried green. The makeup artist must have hated me. She applied green eyeshadow and blood red lipstick in my Varsity Pageant Finals. Yes, I participated in pageants before, that is a story for another day. But freaking green eyeshadow and blood red lipstick? She explained that she thinks I can carry it off. Did I mentioned my gown was pastel blue? Gosh. I almost burst out in tears.
  • Black/Grey: I saw Steph doing her smokey eyes during our D&D one year, tried and ended up looking like a Panda with two black eyes.

Ever since these incidents, I’ve stick with my safest brown, earth and slightly shimmering gold hues. I believe there are nothing wrong with the colours, it is probably just me. I am contemplating if I should go for makeup workshops. HMPH.

Here’s my faithful eyeshadow from L’Oreal which I’ve used for a long time. This is my daily palette and also the palette I used during fancy dinners.

photo (58)

But when I read that Material World is giving away Anna Sui Limited Eye Shadow Palette 2013 in No. 2, the palette is perfect! Something for a change. I want it! This is definitely in time to replace my almost gone L’Oreal eyeshadow! Keeping my fingers crossed. Haha.

annanumbersSource: Material World

 

About somethingboutrenes

A lady with many random thoughts and braving this whimsical world with a simple faith. In love with all things vintage and pieces with a story to tell. Loves blogging, enjoys Yoga and has an urgent need to travel to maintain sanity.

4 responses to “My take on Eyeshadows and Material World’s Anna Sui Giveaway!”

  1. caroline says :

    I usually stick to earth tones as well but I like to add a bit of gold to my lids…gives them a bit of depth!
    xo
    styleontheside.com

  2. wongyuhui says :

    I can never do eyeshadow because I have deep set eyes. So they either disappear completely into my eyelids or I end up looking like drag queen. Haha.

    So lucky you girlies can play with eyeshadow!

Leave a Reply

