Jigokudani or Hell Valley, Hokkaido

//Last week, I shared on an overview of our long awaited Hokkaido/Tokyo trip via Hong Thai Travel and I also shared on some of the places of interest we visited in our Day 2 and Day 3 of the trip. In this post and more, I will be sharing on some of the sites we visited in Day 3 in details with a lot more pictures! So stay tuned!

IMG_2012

I love visiting natural sights and it thrilled me to see a natural phenomenon which is not available in Singapore (come on, we only have Bukit Timah Hill) and something I’ve never seen before. So when we are at Hell Valley, I was thrilled.

IMG_2009

IMG_2024

IMG_2015

It is a valley with hot steam vents, sulfurous streams (means smelly) and other volcanic activity! It is also th emain source of our resort’s hot spring waters in the area of Noboribetsu.

Apparently there are many walking trails through the forests above Noboribetsu and if you follow them for 30 minutes, you get to Oyunuma, a sulfurous pond and nearby mud pond. Also, flowing out of Oyunuma, there is a river where you can enjoy a natural foot bath! But in a group tour, we do not have this luxury of hiking up to see them, but instead was given some time to walk on the wooden platform to the centre of the valley!

IMG_2016

IMG_2359

IMG_2019

Beware, if you are someone who pukes easily after smelling rotten stuff, please stay away! It smells like hundreds of rotten eggs all around you! I had to press my nose with a wad of tissue to survive the walk! Clean air is something we don’t appreciate until it’s taken away!

Tags: ,

About somethingboutrenes

A lady with many random thoughts and braving this whimsical world with a simple faith. In love with all things vintage and pieces with a story to tell. Loves blogging, enjoys Yoga and has an urgent need to travel to maintain sanity.

4 responses to “Jigokudani or Hell Valley, Hokkaido”

  1. deannasallao says :

    hey there! I am loving your recent posts! I also blogged about some tips on how to see the world. Question: What is your number one tip?

    here’s what my recent post is all about:

    http://talkaboutbeauty.co/2014/08/31/tips-on-how-to-see-the-world/

    Would love to hear from you!

    Cheers,
    Deanna ( http://www.talkaboutbeauty.co )

    • somethingboutrenes says :

      Hi Deanna!

      Thank you for dropping by! I saw your blog posts and love them too! Will be following you! My number 1 tip to seeing the world? Sacrifice on accommodation and airfare but never on the activities! I’m planning a trip to Australia next year, and I would love to go caving, interacting with dolphins, whale watching etc So I will be getting cheap airfares and an average accommodation, just so I can spend more on the activities!

      • somethingboutrenes says :

        Oh, and one more to add, it is in my personal goal to travel at least twice a year. One to a place slightly further away (e.g 5 hrs flight and above) and another to nearby countries. You will be amaze to explore the surrounding countries which we have often taken for granted for. E.g I’m in Singapore, and I’ve traveled to Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia etc. These are the places where our counterparts in US /Europe pay a fortune to travel to but are accessible to us and at our door steps! So yes, there you go! :D

      • Deanna Sallao says :

        wow! Australia is indeed a nice choice! I am planning to travel to South Korea next year! hope everything turns great!
        thank you for your wonderful response.
        I am following you now, keep me posted!
        Cheers,
        Deanna ( http://www.talkaboutbeauty.co)

Leave a Reply

